St Joseph’s College Festival 2018

The 19th and 20th October saw the hosting of the 2018 edition of the prestigious St Joseph’s College National Schools Rugby Festival.

Started in 1986 to commemorate the school’s Golden Jubilee, each year 16 schools are invited to take part from across the state and independent sectors. The Festival has had no shortage of top quality players gracing the turf. Over the years many have gone on to successful careers in professional rugby, including England stars Marcus Smith (Brighton College), Mako Vunipola, Chris Robshaw (both Millfield) and Mike Tindall (QEGS Wakefield).

Continuing our tradition of providing the match officials for the tournament in recent years, a team of 12 referees and 6 performance assessors from LSRFUR oversaw over 50 fixtures across Saturday and Sunday. The team did the society proud, with an abundance of complimentary feedback from players, coaches and spectators alike. Congratulations to Alex Rose and Ivan Kennedy on officiating the Plate and Cup finals respectively. We are looking forward to next year’s tournament already!

A selection of photos from the tournament can be seen below (click to expand).

Your LSRFUR referees at this year’s tournament were:

  • Alex Rose

  • Chris Baxter

  • Daniel Coelho

  • Tom Smith

  • Michael Essam

  • Robert Gall

  • Ivan Kennedy

  • Benjamin Ainsworth-Taylor

  • James Robson

  • William Foster

  • Matthew Constant

  • Alex Mackinder